Congo-Kinshasa (DR Congo; formerly Zaire) Champions

Stanley Pool Championship 1923-1950
Léopoldville 1918-1950
Ligue de Football de Katanga 1925-1950
Regional Championships within Congo-Kinshasa/Zaire
In 1948, the sports federations of Katanga and Léopoldville merged into the Union Congolaise des Fédérations et Associations Sportives Indigenès (U.C.F.A.S.I.) to form the first nationwide sports organisation in the current territory of the DR Congo (then Belgian Congo). On 16 Feb 1958, the Association Royale Sportive Congolaise et du Ruanda-Urundi (A.R.S.C.R.U.) was formed by the Europeans in the Belgian colonies which now are the states of DR Congo, Rwanda and Burundi, which organised a cup tournament between the two main cities, Léopoldville (now Kinshasa) and Elisabethville (now Lubumbashi). A second edition in 1959, which also included clubs from Bukavu, Kananga, Likasi, Mbandaka and Usumbura (now Bujumbura in Burundi) was abandoned before it was finished. After independence in 1960 the football federation of Usumbura left the A.R.S.C.R.U., which was then renamed Association Royale Sportive du Congo (A.R.S.C.) and became the Fédération des Associations Sportives du Congo (FASCO) in 1964, which organised the first edition of the Coupe du Congo in 1964. In 1971, the football federation was renamed Fédération Zaïroise de Football Association (FEZAFA) as the name of the country became Zaire.

Championship of Congo-Kinshasa/Zaire/DR Congo

Coupe de l'A.R.S.C.U.
1958    FC St.-Eloi (Lubumbashi)         5-1 AS Vita Club (Kinshasa)
1959      not finished
1960-63   not held
Coupe du Congo
1964    CS Imana (Kinshasa)              3-1 FC Lupopo (Lubumbashi)
1965    AS Bilima (Kinshasa)
1966    TP Englebert (Lubumbashi) 
1967    TP Englebert (Lubumbashi)
1968    FC Lupopo (Lubumbashi)
1969    TP Englebert (Lubumbashi)        [*]
1970    AS Vita Club (Kinshasa)          [*]
1971    AS Vita Club (Kinshasa)
Coupe du Zaïre
1972/73 AS Vita Club (Kinshasa)
1973    AS Vita Club (Kinshasa)
1974    CS Imana (Kinshasa)
1975    AS Vita Club (Kinshasa)
1976    TP Mazembe (Lubumbashi)
1977    AS Vita Club (Kinshasa)
1978    CS Imana (Kinshasa)
Championnat National
1979    AS Bilima (Kinshasa)
1980    AS Vita Club (Kinshasa)
1981    FC Lupopo (Lubumbashi)
1982    AS Bilima (Kinshasa)
1983    SM Sanga Balende (Mbuji-Mayi)
1984    AS Bilima (Kinshasa)
1985    US Tshinkunku (Kananga)          bt  AS Bilima (Kinshasa)   
1986    FC Lupopo (Lubumbashi)
1987    TP Mazembe (Lubumbashi)
1988    AS Vita Club (Kinshasa)
1989    DC Motema Pembe (Kinshasa)
LINAFOOT (Ligue Nationale de Football)
1990    FC Lupopo (Lubumbashi)
1991    SCOM Mikishi (Lubumbashi)
Championnat National
1992    US Bilombe (Bilombe)
1993    AS Vita (Kinshasa)
1994    DC Motema Pembe (Kinshasa)   
1995    AS Bantous (Mbuji Mayi)
1996    DC Motema Pembe (Kinshasa)  
1997    AS Vita Club (Kinshasa)
LINAFOOT (Ligue Nationale de Football)
1998    DC Motema Pembe (Kinshasa)
1999    DC Motema Pembe (Kinshasa)  
2000    TP Mazembe (Lubumbashi) 
2001    TP Mazembe (Lubumbashi) 
2002    FC Lupopo (Lubumbashi)
2003    AS Vita Club (Kinshasa)
2004    DC Motema Pembe (Kinshasa)  
2005    DC Motema Pembe (Kinshasa)  
2006    TP Mazembe (Lubumbashi) 
2007    TP Mazembe (Lubumbashi) 
2008    DC Motema Pembe (Kinshasa)  
2009    TP Mazembe (Lubumbashi) 
2010    AS Vita Club (Kinshasa)
2011    TP Mazembe (Lubumbashi) 
2012    TP Mazembe (Lubumbashi) 
2013    TP Mazembe (Lubumbashi) 
2014    TP Mazembe (Lubumbashi) 
2015    AS Vita Club (Kinshasa)
2016    TP Mazembe (Lubumbashi) 
2017    TP Mazembe (Lubumbashi) 
2018    AS Vita Club (Kinshasa)
2019    TP Mazembe (Lubumbashi) 
2020    TP Mazembe (Lubumbashi) 
2021    AS Vita Club (Kinshasa)
2022    TP Mazembe (Lubumbashi) 
2023      abandoned
2024    TP Mazembe (Lubumbashi) 

[*] the tournaments for the sixth (1969) and seventh (1970) edition of the
    Coupe du Congo were not finished, but TP Englebert and AS Vita Club
    were chosen to represent the country in the African Champions Cup in
    the following year; these titles are included in the overview below.

NB: championships organised by the Ligue Nationale de Football (1990, 1991
    and those since 1998) in bold face

Total number of titles (61; LINAFOOT titles (28) between brackets):

20 (15) TP Mazembe (Lubumbashi) [includes TP Englebert]

15 ( 5) AS Vita Club (Kinshasa)

11 ( 5) DC Motema Pembe (Kinshasa) [includes CS Imana]

 6 ( 2) FC Lupopo (Lubumbashi) [includes FC St.-Eloi] 

 4      AS Bilima (Kinshasa) [includes Dragons]

 1 ( 1) Mikishi (Lubumbashi)
 1      AS Bantous (Mbuji-Mayi) 
 1      US Bilombe (Bilombe) 
 1      SM Sanga Balende (Mbuji-Mayi)  [SM=Sa Majesté] 
 1      US Tshinkunku (Kananga) 

Regional Championships within Congo-Kinshasa/Zaire

About this document

Sources included: [Oli 95], [Ric 99]

Prepared and maintained by Hans Schöggl for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Hans Schöggl
Last updated: 28 May 2024

(C) Copyright Hans Schöggl and RSSSF 1998/2024
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.