Senegal - List of Champions

Prior to independence, Réveil de Saint-Louis (founded in March 1951 by reserve players from Saint-Louisienne) won the championship of Senegal in 1955/56 (runners-up: Saint-Louisienne), having finished 4th in the previous season; in the championship of the district of Saint-Louis they were runners-up in 1951/52, 1952/53 and 1953/54. Known champions of Saint-Louis district: Saint-Louisienne (1947/48, 1948/49; runners-up 1949/50), Espoir de Saint-Louis (1949/50).
before independence
1956  Réveil de Saint-Louis        [runners-up: Saint-Louisienne]
1957  Saint-Louisienne             [runners-up: Réveil de Saint-Louis]
1958  Réveil de Saint-Louis        [runners-up: Saint-Louisienne]
1959  Saint-Louisienne             [runners-up: Foyer France (Dakar)]
since independence
1960  ASC Jeanne d'Arc (Dakar)
1961-63  not disputed              [*1]
1964  Olympique (Thiès)
1965     not awarded
1966  Saint-Louisienne             [*2]
1967  Espoir (Saint-Louis)
1968  Foyer France (Dakar)
1969  ASC Jeanne d'Arc (Dakar)
1970  ASC Jaraaf (Dakar)           [unbeaten]
1971  ASFA (Dakar)                 [runners-up: ASC Jaraaf]
1972  ASFA (Dakar)
1973  ASC Jeanne d'Arc (Dakar)
1974  ASFA (Dakar)
1975  ASC Jaraaf (Dakar)
1976  ASC Jaraaf (Dakar)
1977  ASC Jaraaf (Dakar)
1978  US Gorée (Gorée)
1979  ASF Police (Dakar)           [runners-up: ASC Jaraaf]
1980  SEIB (Diourbel)
1981  US Gorée (Gorée)
1982  ASC Jaraaf (Dakar)
1983  SEIB (Diourbel)
1984  US Gorée (Gorée)
1985  ASC Jeanne d'Arc (Dakar)
1986  ASC Jeanne d'Arc (Dakar)
1987  SEIB (Diourbel)
1988  ASC Jeanne d'Arc (Dakar)
1989  ASC Jaraaf (Dakar)
1990  Port Autonome (Dakar)
1991  Port Autonome (Dakar)
1992  ASEC Ndiambour (Louga)
1993  AS Douanes (Dakar)
1994  ASEC Ndiambour (Louga)
1995  ASC Jaraaf (Dakar)
1996  Sonacos (Diourbel)
1997  AS Douanes (Dakar)
1998  ASEC Ndiambour (Louga)
1999  ASC Jeanne d'Arc (Dakar)
2000  ASC Jaraaf (Dakar)
2001  ASC Jeanne d'Arc (Dakar)
2002  ASC Jeanne d'Arc (Dakar)
2003  ASC Jeanne d'Arc (Dakar)  
2004  ASC Jaraaf (Dakar)
2005  Port Autonome (Dakar)
2006  AS Douanes (Dakar)
2007  AS Douanes (Dakar)
2008  AS Douanes (Dakar)
2009  ASC La Linguère (Saint-Louis) 
2010  ASC Jaraaf (Dakar) 
2011  US Ouakam
2012  Casa Sports (Ziguinchor)
2013  Diambars de Saly     
2014  AS Pikine
2015  AS Douanes (Dakar)
2016  US Gorée (Gorée)
2017  Génération Foot (Déni Biram Ndao)
2018  ASC Jaraaf (Dakar) 
2019  Génération Foot (Déni Biram Ndao)
2020    abandoned
2021  Teunguéth FC  
2022  Casa Sports (Ziguinchor)
2023  Génération Foot (Déni Biram Ndao)
2024  Teunguéth FC  

[*1] some sources list US Rail (Thiès) as 1962 champions but omit the 1964 title
     of Olympique (Thiès)
[*2] some sources list Olympique (Thiès) as 1966 champions 

Number of Titles (since 1960; 60 in total)

12 ASC Jaraaf (Dakar) [includes Foyer France]

10 ASC Jeanne d'Arc (Dakar)

 6 AS Douanes (Dakar) 

 4 US Gorée (Gorée) 
   Sonacos (Diourbel) [includes SEIB; now  called Suneor]

 3 ASFA (Dakar) 
   Génération Foot (Déni Biram Ndao)
   ASEC Ndiambour (Louga)
   Port Autonome (Dakar)
 2 Casa Sports (Ziguinchor)
   Teunguéth FC  

 1 Diambars de Saly     
   Espoir (Saint-Louis) 
   ASC La Linguère (Saint-Louis) 
   Olympique (Thiès) 
   US Ouakam
   AS Pikine
   ASF Police (Dakar) 

NB: ASC SONACOS meant Association Sportive et Culturelle de la SOciété 
                      NAtionale de Commercialisation des Oléagineux du Sénégal;
    SEIB abbreviated Société Electrique Industrielle du Baol.

About this document

Source for information before independence: [Ly 92]

With thanks to Mikael Jönsson

Prepared and maintained by Hans Schöggl for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Hans Schöggl
Last updated: 26 May 2024

(C) Copyright Hans Schöggl and RSSSF 1999/2024
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.