Uganda - List of Champions

Kampala and District Football League
1949 United Budonians                    [*1]
1953 Police    
1959 Nsambya                  
1960 Makerere College (Kampala)
1961   not held
1962 Bitumastic (Kampala)
1963 Bitumastic (Kampala)
1964 Express FC (Kampala)
NB: champions in missing years not known; league apparently established in the 1930s;
    United Budonians were founded as Budo Old Boys in 1906 and last won the KDFL in 1949
unofficial championships
1966 Express FC (Kampala)
1967 Bitumastic (Kampala)
official championships
1968 Prisons FC (Kampala)
1969 Prisons FC (Kampala)              
1970 Coffee United SC (Kakira)
1971 Army
1972   annulled                          [*2]
1973   annulled                          [*2]
1974 Express FC (Kampala)
1975 Express FC (Kampala)
1976 Kampala City Council SC
1977 Kampala City Council SC
1978 Simba FC (Lugazi)                 
1979 Uganda Commercial Bank (Kampala)
1980 Nile Breweries FC (Jinja)
1981 Kampala City Council SC
1982 Nakivubo Villa SC (Kampala)
1983 Kampala City Council SC
1984 Nakivubo Villa SC (Kampala)
1985 Kampala City Council SC
1986 Nakivubo Villa SC (Kampala)   
1987 Nakivubo Villa SC (Kampala) 
1988 Nakivubo Villa SC (Kampala)      
1989 Nakivubo Villa SC (Kampala) 
1990 Nakivubo Villa SC (Kampala)
1991 Kampala City Council SC           [*3]
1992 Nakivubo Villa SC (Kampala)
1993 Express FC (Kampala)
1994 Nakivubo Villa SC (Kampala)
1995 Express Red Eagles (Kampala)
1996 Express Red Eagles (Kampala)
1997 Kampala City Council SC     
1998 Villa SC (Kampala)
1999 Villa SC (Kampala)
2000 Villa SC (Kampala)
2001 Villa SC (Kampala)
2002 Villa SC (Kampala)
2003 Villa SC (Kampala)
2004 Villa SC (Kampala)
2005 Police (Jinja)
2006 URA SC (Kampala)
2007 URA SC (Kampala)
2008 Kampala City Council SC     
2009 URA SC (Kampala)
2010 Bunamwaya SC    
2011 URA SC (Kampala)
2012 Express FC (Kampala)
2013 Kampala Capital City Authority FC [*4]
2014 Kampala Capital City Authority FC
2015 Vipers SC (Kitende)
2016 Kampala Capital City Authority FC
2017 Kampala Capital City Authority FC
2018 Vipers SC (Kitende)
2019 Kampala Capital City Authority FC
2020 Vipers SC (Kitende)               [*5]
2021 Express FC (Kampala)
2022 Vipers SC (Kitende)
2023 Vipers SC (Kitende)
2024 Villa SC (Kampala)

[*1] Budo Old Boys were renamed United Old Budonians Club after 1927
     and were a dominant force in Uganda football in the thirties and
     fourties; their 1949 title was their last
[*2] both the 1972 and 1973 league championships were annulled;
     some sources give Simba as champions in both seasons, presumably
     because they played in the African Champions Cups of 1973 and
     1974, which apparently was all on strength of their 1971 title.
[*3] league programme not finished, but as more than 75% had been played,
     leaders KCC were declared champions
[*4] KCCA won the official league organised by the FUFA; a rebel league
     organised by sponsors Bell was won by Maroons
[*5] league programme not finished, but as more than 75% had been played,
     leaders Vipers were declared champions

Number of Titles (55; since 1968)

17 Villa SC (Kampala)                           [includes Nakivubo Villa SC]
13 Kampala Capital City Authority FC            [includes Kampala City Council SC]

 7 Express (Kampala)                            [includes Express Red Eagles]

 6 Vipers SC (Kitende)                          [includes Bunamwaya SC]

 4 Uganda Revenue Autority (Kampala)

 2 Prisons FC (Kampala)
   Simba FC (Lugazi)                            [includes Army]

 1 Coffee United SC (Kakira) 
   Nile Breweries FC (Jinja)
   Police (Jinja)
   Uganda Commercial Bank (Kampala)             [defunct]

About this document

Thanks to Barry Baker and Neil Morrison

Prepared and maintained by Hans Schöggl for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Hans Schöggl
Last updated: 18 May 2024

(C) Copyright Hans Schöggl and RSSSF 1998/2024
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.