Brunei - List of Champions

The Brunei State Amateur F.A. was formed in 1952, based at Kuala Belait; initially it did not incorporate teams from Brunei Town (which had its own Brunei Town Amateur F.A.), but it did incorporate teams from Miri, just across the border in Sarawak. Between 1951 and (at least) 1962, representative sides from Belait District (Brunei) and Miri-Lutong District (Sarawak) annually contested the Shaw Shield.
Teams playing in BSAFA tournaments in the 1960s and 1970s included PWD Sports Club, Belait Police, Panaga Club, Malay Club, KBRC, BSRC, All Malay Stars, Dayak Club, Chinese Club, AAC Senior Team, St Michaels' School, and Brunei Shell Trade School.
In 1975, a District League (Chung Pah Hing Cup) was first held in Belait with 15 participants; the first edition lasted until 1977; it later was held from 1982 to 1988.

Prior to the creation of the B-League in 2002, the four district champions (of Brunei/Muara, Belait, Tutong and Temburong) played off for the championship.

Championship Playoff
1984    MS ABDB (Angkata Bersenjata Diraja Brunei)  [*]
1985/86 Brunei Muara
1987    Kota Ranger FC
1988    Kuala Belait
1989    Muara Stars FC
1990-92   not played
1993    Kota Ranger FC
1994-01   not played

[*] ABDB defeated Belait District 1-0 in the President's Cup final on 2-Sep-84

2002    DPMM FC
2003    Wijaya FC
2004    DPMM FC
2005/06 QAF FC
2006/07   not held
2007/08 QAF FC
2008/09   not held
2009/10 QAF FC
2011      abandoned
2011/12   only qualifying competition after formation new FA

Brunei Super League/Liga Super Brunei
2012/13 Indera SC
2014    Indera SC
2015    MS ABDB
2016    MS ABDB
2017/18 MS ABDB
2018/19 MS ABDB
2020      abandoned 
2021      abandoned 
2022      not held
2023    Kasuka FC

NB: ABDB = Angkatan Bersenjata Diraja Brunei (aka Armed Forces)
    DPMM = Duli Pengiran Muda Mahkota

Number of Titles (19; since 1984):



   Indera SC
   Kota Ranger FC

 1 Brunei Muara
   Kasuka FC
   Kuala Belait
   Muara Stars FC
   Wijaya FC

About this document

Source: [Grü 07] (for 1985-1993)

Thanks to Neil Morrison

Prepared and maintained by Hans Schöggl for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Hans Schöggl
Last updated: 24 Nov 2023

(C) Copyright Hans Schöggl and RSSSF 2005/23
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.