(South) Pacific Games and Mini Games

The South Pacific Games were initially held irregularly; since 1971 they are held every four years; since 1981 another tournament, called South Pacific Mini Games, is also held every four years.

The New Hebrides changed name to Vanuatu upon independence. Tahiti played as French Polynesia in the first three tournaments. (Of course Tahiti is the main island of French Polynesia, and it is assumed that in all cases all players came from there.)

Tournament renamed Pacific Games from 2011 onwards.


Year  Winners                               Venue   
South Pacific Games
1963  New Caledonia                         Fiji
1966  French Polynesia                      New Caledonia           
1969  New Caledonia                         Papua New Guinea
1971  New Caledonia                         Tahiti
1975  Tahiti                                Guam
1979  Tahiti                                Fiji
1983  Tahiti                                Western Samoa
1987  New Caledonia                         New Caledonia
1991  Fiji                                  Papua New Guinea
1995  Tahiti                                Tahiti
1999    no football tournament              Guam
2003  Fiji                                  Fiji
2007  New Caledonia                         Samoa
Pacific Games
2011  New Caledonia                         Nouméa (New Caledonia)
2015  New Caledonia                         Port Moresby (Papua New Guinea)
2019  New Zealand                           Apia (Samoa)
2023  New Caledonia                         Honiara (Solomon Islands)

Number of Wins (16)

 8 New Caledonia

 5 Tahiti (includes French Polynesia)

 2 Fiji

 1 New Zealand

Palmares Mini Games

Year  Winners                               Venue   
South Pacific Mini Games
1981  Tahiti                                Solomon Islands
1985    no football tournament              Cook Islands
1989    no football tournament              Tonga
1993  Tahiti                                Vanuatu
1997    no football tournament              American Samoa
2001    no football tournament              Norfolk Islands
2005    no football tournament              Palau
Pacific Mini Games
2009    no football tournament              Cook Islands
2013    no football tournament              Wallis and Futuna
2017  Vanuatu                               Vanuatu
2021    no football tournament              Northern Marianas

Number of Wins (3)

 2 Tahiti

 1 Vanuatu

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Roberto Di Maggio, Erik Garin, Neil Morrison and Hans Schöggl for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Authors: Roberto Di Maggio, Erik Garin, Neil Morrison and Hans Schöggl
Last updated: 7 Dec 2023

(C) Copyright Roberto Di Maggio, Erik Garin, Neil Morrison, Hans Schöggl and RSSSF 1999/2023
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All rights reserved.