President's Cup (South Korea)

Played annually in South Korea from 1971 to 1989. Since then it is biannual. The official name changed a few times:

1971-1975 Park's Cup Asia Football Championship 
1976-1979 President Park's Cup International Football Championship 
1980-1993 President's Cup 
1995- now Korea Cup 
Participation is both by regional national sides and various club teams and selections from all over the world.


Year    Winners                    Runners-Up   
1971      Burma and South Korea             [shared after two 0-0's] 
1972    Burma                  3-1 Indonesia
1973      Burma and Cambodia                [shared after 0-0]
1974    South Korea            7-1 Medan
1975    South Korea            1-0 Burma
1976      South Korea and São Paulo U-21    [shared after 0-0]
1977    São Paulo U-21         1-0 South Korea    
1978    South Korea            6-2 Washington Diplomats
1979    Vitória FC             2-1 South Korea    
1980    South Korea            2-0 Indonesia
1981      South Korea and Racing (Córdoba)  [shared after 2-2]
1982      South Korea and Atlético Mineiro  [shared after 0-0]
1983    PSV                    3-2 South Korea    
1984    Bangu                  2-1 Hallelujah   
1985    South Korea            1-0 South Korea Olympic
1986      not held due to Asian Games in Seoul
1987    South Korea            0-0 Australia [5-4 pen]
1988    Czechoslovakia XI      2-1 Soviet Union Olympic
1989    Czechoslovakia XI          Brøndby IF
1991    South Korea            2-0 Egypt
1993    Egypt                  1-0 South Korea
1995    Ecuador                1-0 Zambia
1997    South Korea                Yugoslavia
1999    Croatia                    Mexico

Number of Wins

12 South Korea      (4 shared)
 3 Burma            (2 shared)
 2 Czechoslovakia XI   
   São Paulo U-21   (1 shared)
 1 Bangu 
   Vitória FC 
   Atlético Mineiro (shared)
   Cambodia         (shared)
   Racing (Córdoba) (shared)

About this document

Thanks to Barrie Courtney for name information

Prepared and maintained by Erik Garin and Neil Morrison for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Authors: Erik Garin ( and Neil Morrison (
Last updated: 20 Feb 2003

(C) Copyright Erik Garin, Neil Morrison and RSSSF 2000/03
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All rights reserved.