Nehru Cup

Originally annual, later biannual friendly tournament in India. There was a 10-year gap between the 1997 and 2007 tournaments.

In the "even" years in between, the Rajiv Gandhi Gold Cup for U-21 teams is held.

In 1990, the Jawaharlal Nehru Centenary Cup was organised in Calcutta between club teams (and the Zambia national side), won by Olimpia from Asunción.


year winners            runners-up                 venue
1982 Uruguay        2-0 China                      Calcutta
1983 Hungary [1]    2-1 China                      Cochin
1984 Poland         1-0 China                      Calcutta
1985 Soviet Union   2-1 Yugoslavia                 Cochin
1986 Soviet Union   1-0 China                      Trivandrum
1987 Soviet Union   2-0 Bulgaria                   Calicut
1988 Soviet Union   2-0 Poland                     Siliguri
1989 Hungary        2-1 Soviet Union               Margao, Goa
1991 Romania        3-1 Hungary                    Thiruvananthapuram
1993 North Korea    2-0 Romania                    Madras
1995 Iraq           1-0 Russia                     Calcutta
1997 Iraq           3-1 Uzbekistan                 Kochi
2007 India          1-0 Syria                      New Delhi
2009 India          1-1 Syria       [aet, 5-4 pen]                  

[1] 1983 winners were Haladás from Szombathely who played as
    Hungary Olympic
[*] other participants included Iraq

Note that teams are not necessarily first national squads; see annual
files for all known details.

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Mikael Jönsson for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Mikael Jönsson
Last updated: 30 May 2013

(C) Copyright Mikael Jönsson and RSSSF 1997/2013
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.