WAFU Laurent Gbagbo West African Unity Cup 2005

Invitational tournament between four of the strongest West African teams; may be seen as a continuation (after an interruption of close to 20 years) of the West African Nations Cup or "Zone 3" Championship, held from 1982 to 1987, or as a precursor of the WAFU Nations Cup held since 2010.

Tournament held in Bamako, Mali between top-4 teams of the region; 
no qualifying organised.

Teams were not full international sides but consisted of players from
the domestic leagues.

[Feb 24]
Nigeria       1-0 Senegal         [aet]
  [Isaac Promise 93]
Mali          2-1 Ivory Coast
  [Lassine Berthé 49, Adama Sidibé 72; Soro Taina 39]

Third Place Match [Feb 27, stade Modibo Keita]
Senegal       1-0 Ivory Coast
  [M’Baye Médoune 78]

Final [Feb 27, stade Modibo Keita]
Mali          3-0 Nigeria
  [Lassine Berthe 9, Souleymane Dembélé 13, 48]

About this document

Thanks to Myk Cameron, Barrie Courtney and Mikael Jönsson for additional information

Prepared and maintained by Jason Soffe for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Jason Soffe
Last updated: 18 Jan 2018

(C) Copyright Jason Soffe and RSSSF 2005/18
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.