Texaco Cup & Anglo-Scottish Cup 1971-81

About this document

Texaco Cup Finals 1971-75

The Texaco Cup was sponsored by the petrol company and involved the top English, Scottish and Irish (Northern Ireland and Republic of Ireland) clubs who hadn't qualified for Europe. Texaco withdrew their sponsorship in 1975 and it was replaced by the Anglo-Scottish Cup.

On two occasions the Irish teams played a separate Texaco Cup.

Finals played over two legs except 1973-74, aggregate score given

1971  Wolverhampton Wanderers  3  Heart Of Midlothian      2
1972  Derby County             2  Airdrieonians            1
1973  Ipswich Town             4  Norwich City             2
1974  Newcastle United         2  Burnley                  1
1975  Newcastle United         3  Southampton              1

Anglo-Scottish Cup Finals 1976-81

Following the demise of the Texaco Cup, the Anglo-Scottish Cup was introduced. This had a similar format to its predecessor but involved clubs from England and Scotland only. Over the years English entrants were increasingly drawn from the lower divisions and in 1981 the Scottish clubs withdrew as the public showed little interest in the competition . The competition continued with English clubs only as the Football League Group Cup.

Finals played over two legs, aggregate score shown
1976  Middlesbrough            1  Fulham                   0
1977  Nottingham Forest        5  Orient                   1
1978  Bristol City             3  St. Mirren               2
1979  Burnley                  4  Oldham Athletic          1
1980  St. Mirren               5  Bristol City             1
1981  Chesterfield             2  Notts County             1

Football League Group Cup/Trophy 1982-83

After the withdrawal of the Scottish clubs from the Anglo-Scottish Cup in 1981, the competition continued with English clubs only as the Football League Group Cup. It was renamed the Football League Trophy in 1982 and then replaced in 1983 by the Associate Members Cup.

1982  Grimsby Town             3  Wimbledon                2  at Grimsby
1983  Millwall                 3  Lincoln City             2  at Lincoln

About this document

Prepared and maintained by James M. Ross for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: James M. Ross
Email: jmr@zfe1.demon.co.uk
Last updated: 20 Dec 2007

Copyright © 1997/2007 James M. Ross and RSSSF
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.