South Asian Football Federation Cup

Biannual tournament for the nations surrounding the Indian Peninsula. In 1993 the tournament was called "South Asian Association of Regional Co-operation" Gold Cup, in 1995 simply "South Asian Gold Cup 95"; since 1997 onwards it is known as the "South Asian Football Federation Gold Cup" or "South Asian Football Federation Championship".


year winner       runners-up           venue
1993 India        Sri Lanka            Lahore, Pakistan
1995 Sri Lanka    India                Colombo, Sri Lanka
1997 India        Maldives             Kathmandu, Nepal
1999 India        Bangladesh           Margao, Goa
2003 Bangladesh   Maldives             Dhaka, Bangladesh [*]
2005 India        Bangladesh           Karachi, Pakistan
2008 Maldives     India                Malé, Maldives and Colombo, Sri Lanka
2009 India        Maldives             Dhaka, Bangladesh
2011 India        Afghanistan          New Delhi, India
2013 Afghanistan  India                Kathmandu, Nepal
2015 India        Afghanistan          Trivandrum, India
2018 Maldives     India                Dhaka, Bangladesh
2021 India        Nepal                Malé, Maldives

[*] postponed from Oct/Nov 2001 to Jan/Feb 2002; then postponed due to suspension of
    Bangladesh FA from FIFA; rescheduled for Jan 2003

Number of Titles (13; runners-up finishes between square brackets)

 8 [ 4] India

 2 [ 3] Maldives

 1 [ 2] Afghanistan
 1 [ 2] Bangladesh
 1 [ 1] Sri Lanka

   [ 1] Nepal

About this document

With thanks to Malik Riaz Hai Naveed (

Prepared and maintained by Karel Stokkermans for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Karel Stokkermans
Last updated: 21 Oct 2021

(C) Copyright Karel Stokkermans and RSSSF 1998/2021
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.