Oceania U-19/U-20 World Cup Qualifiers


Year Winners          Runners-Up       Third            Fourth           Venue
1974 Tahiti           New Zealand      New Hebrides     New Caledonia    Papeete, Tahiti [+]
1978 Australia        Fiji             New Zealand      Papua New Guinea Auckland, New Zealand
1980 New Zealand  2-0 Australia        Fiji         4-3 New Caledonia    Fiji
1982 Australia    4-3 New Zealand      Papua New Guinea Fiji             Papua New Guinea
1985 Australia        Israel           New Zealand      Taiwan           Sydney, Australia
1987 Australia        Israel           New Zealand      Taiwan           Auckland, New Zealand
1988 Australia    1-0 New Zealand      Taiwan       2-0 Fiji             Suva, Fiji
1990 Australia        New Zealand      Vanuatu          Tahiti           Fiji
1992 New Zealand      Tahiti           Fiji             Vanuatu          Tahiti [*]
1994 Australia    1-0 New Zealand      Solomon Isl. 0-0 Vanuatu  [4-2 p] Fiji
1996 Australia    2-1 New Zealand      Fiji         1-1 Tahiti   [5-4 p] Tahiti
1998 Australia    2-0 Fiji             New Zealand  2-1 Solomon Isl.     Apia, Samoa
2001 Australia    4-3 New Zealand [agg]                                  Nouméa, New Caledonia, and Rarotonga, Cook Islands
2003 Australia   15-0 Fiji        [agg]                                  Port Vila, Vanuatu, and Ba, Fiji
2005 Australia    3-0 Solomon Islands  Vanuatu      4-1 Fiji             Honiara, Solomon Islands
2007 New Zealand      Fiji             Solomon Islands  New Caledonia    Waitakere, New Zealand
2009 Tahiti           New Caledonia    New Zealand      Fiji             Papeete, Tahiti
2011 New Zealand  3-1 Solomon Islands  Vanuatu      2-0 Fiji             Auckland, New Zealand
2013 New Zealand      Fiji             Vanuatu          New Caledonia    Lautoka, Fiji
2014 Fiji             Vanuatu          New Caledonia    Solomon Islands  Suva, Fiji [*]
2016 New Zealand  5-0 Vanuatu                                            Vanuatu
2018 New Zealand  1-0 Tahiti           N. Caledonia 4-1 Solomon Islands  Pirae, Tahiti
2020   cancelled due to Covid-19 pandemic
2022 New Zealand  3-0 Fiji             N. Caledonia 1-1 Tahiti   [5-4 p] Tahiti

NB: Age group changed from U-20 to U-19 before 2014, but the official name was changed before 2018 only.

[+] not a qualifying tournament for the World Youth Cup; Australia did not participate
[*] Australia in 1992 and New Zealand in 2014 did not participate, both qualified as hosts

Intercontinental Qualifiers

Year Winners          Runners-Up       Third            Venue
1979 Paraguay         Israel           Australia        Asunción, Paraguay
1981 Argentina        New Zealand      Israel           Buenos Aires, Argentina
1983 Australia        Israel           Costa Rica
1989 Syria            Qatar            Australia        Aleppo, Syria
1991 Australia        Israel                            Sydney, Australia

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Erik Garin for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Erik Garin
Last updated: 28 Sep 2022

(C) Copyright Erik Garin and RSSSF 2000/22
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.