Kirin Cup

Annual tournament in Japan sponsored by Kirin Corporation. The Japan national team always enters; until 1991 the other participants could be both club teams and national selections, since 1992 it is a tournament for national sides only.


1978 Borussia Mönchengladbach (West Germany)
     Palmeiras (Brazil)
1979 Tottenham Hotspur (England)
1980 Middlesbrough (England)
1981 FC Brugge (Belgium)
1982 Werder Bremen (West Germany)
1983 Newcastle United (England)
1984 Internacional (Brazil)
1985 Santos (Brazil)
1986 Werder Bremen (West Germany)
1987 Fluminense (Brazil)
1988 Flamengo (Brazil)
1989   not disputed 
1990   not disputed
1991 Japan
1992 Argentina
1993 Hungary
1994 France
1995 Japan
1996 Japan
1997 Japan
1998 Czech Republic
1999 Belgium and Peru (shared)
2000 Japan and Slovakia (shared)
2001 Japan
2002   no final ranking
2003   no final ranking
2004 Japan
2005 Peru and UAE (shared)
2006 Scotland
2007 Japan
2008 Japan
2009 Japan

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Santiago Cruz for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Santiago Cruz
Last updated: 12 Jun 2009

(C) Copyright Santiago Cruz and RSSSF 1998/2009
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.