Iraq 1957/58

Participants (8):
  Al-Quwa Al-Jawiya (Air Force)
  Montakhab Al-Shurta (Police)
  Al-Maslaha Naqil Al-Rakab
  Nadi Athori (Assyrian Sports Club)
  Al-Numan Sports Club
  Al-Adhammiya Sports Club
  Liwa Al-Thamin (8th Brigade)
  Kuliya Al-Askariya (Military College)

NB: format unclear; prior to final group stage, teams were apparently eliminated
    after two defeats

[Oct 6]
Al-Maslaha                     1-1 Al-Quwa Al-Jawiya

[Nov 26]
Kuliya Al-Askariya             0-3 Al-Quwa Al-Jawiya

[Nov 29]
Nadi Athori                    3-2 Al-Adhammiya
Al-Maslaha                     0-2 Al-Shurta
Al-Numan                        -  Liwa Al-Thamin

[Feb 7]
Al-Shurta                      3-1 Liwa Al-Thamin
Liwa Al-Thamin knocked out
[Feb 9]
Al-Maslaha                     3-0 Al-Numan 

[Mar 4]
Al-Quwa Al-Jawiya              4-0 Kuliya Al-Askariya
Kuliya Al-Askariya knocked out

[Mar 6]
Al-Adhammiya                   1-3 Al-Quwa Al-Jawiya

[Mar 14]
Al-Numan                       3-0 Al-Adhammiya
Al-Adhammiya knocked out

[Mar 27]
Al-Shurta                      1-0 Al-Numan
Al-Numan knocked out
Al-Maslaha                     2-0 Nadi Athori
Nadi Athori knocked out

Final Group stage

[Mar 30]
Al-Quwa Al-Jawiya              5-2 Al-Maslaha
  [Emmanuel “Ammo” Baba (3), Emmanuel “Ammo Simsim” Samson,
   Fakhri Mohammed Salman “Abu Layla”; Qasim “Zuwiya” Mahmoud (2)]

[Apr 10]
Al-Shurta                      3-2 Al-Maslaha

Final [May 1, 1958]
Al-Quwa Al-Jawiya              1-1 Al-Shurta
  [Fakhri Mohammed Salman; Armek Sahakian]
  [ref: Ismail Hammoudi]

Final Replay [May 12, 1958]
Al-Quwa Al-Jawiya              w/o Al-Shurta

NB: the Iraq FA decided the replay would be played on May 12, 1958; however,
    Al-Shurta requested for the game to be postponed to a later date due to 
    the unavailability of several of their key players due to injury. The
    Iraq FA declined Al-Shurta’s request and Al-Quwa Al-Jawiya were declared 



league of the institutes of baghdad 1961/62-1972/73

list of champions

list of cup winners

list of topscorers

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Hassanin Mubarak for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Hassanin Mubarak (
Last updated: 13 Dec 2018

(C) Copyright Hassanin Mubarak and RSSSF 2018
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.