Tournoi de l'Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles 1935

Participants :    Daring Club Bruxelles       (Belgium)
                  AFC Ajax                (Netherlands)
                  SC Feijenoord            (Netherlands)
                  Liersche SK                 (Belgium)
                  Wisła Kraków                 (Poland)
                  FC Sochaux                   (France)
                  Offenbacher FC Kickers      (Germany)
                  SV Chemnitz                 (Germany)



  7-6-1935    Wisła Kraków-SC Chemnitz             7-5  [HT: 0-3]
  7-6-1935    Liersche SK-SC Feijenoord             4-2  [HT: 1-1]

  8-6-1935    AFC Ajax-Offenbacher FC Kickers      2-1  [HT: 1-1]
  8-6-1935    FC Sochaux-Daring Club Bruxelles     2-1  [HT: 1-1]

Semifinals :

  9-6-1935    AFC Ajax-Wisła Kraków                5-3  [HT: 3-1]
  9-6-1935    FC Sochaux-Liersche SK               8-0  [HT: 2-0]

NB: the semifinals were drawn as above on the evening of the 8th; however, on
    matchday, Ajax were told they had to play Sochaux (generally considered
    the strongest side in the tournament) and Liersche would play Wisła; Ajax
    refused to comply and after an hour and a half of discussions the matches
    were played as originally drawn.

Third place match:

 10-6-1935    Liersche SK-Wisła Kraków             3-2  [HT: 1-2]
                [Kotlarczyk 27og, Voorhoof 2-2, Van der Kuylen 3-2; Kopeć 38, Habowski 1-2]

 10-6-1935    AFC Ajax-FC Sochaux                  2-1  [HT: 1-0]
                [Blomvliet 40, 87; A. Abegglen 72]
                [Ajax:  Keizer; Van Diepenbeek, Strijbosch; Gischler, Anderiessen, Van de Puttelaar;
                        Fischer, Ten Have, Blomvliet, Schubert, Mulders;
                 Sochaux: Wagner; Lalloué, Mattler, Finot, Pohan, Lehmann;
                          Courtois, Szabó, Simonyi, A. Abegglen, Belko]

NB: at the prize ceremony, first prize (a big silver cup) was handed to Sochaux and
    second prize (a smaller silver cup) to Liersche; the Ajax players were handed
    bronze medals, which they refused to accept; Sochaux went home with the cup but
    after a few days and mediation by the Belgian FA, Sochaux handed the cup to Ajax.



About this document

Prepared and maintained by Javier García, Jérôme Perani, Karel Stokkermans and Andrea Veronese for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Javier García, Jérôme Perani, Karel Stokkermans and Andrea Veronese
Last updated: 21 Jan 2021

(C) Copyright Javier García, Jérôme Perani, Karel Stokkermans, Andrea Veronese and RSSSF 2009/21
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All rights reserved.