Guatemala - List of Champions

NB: in addition to the Liga Capitalina (later called Liga Mayor de Guatemala) and Campeonato de Liga listed below, two other tournaments were played in the early years, the Campeonato Nacional 1919-1923 and the Campeonato de la Républica 1931-1941.
Liga Capitalina
Season   Champions                        Runners-Up
1919     Allies
1920     Hércules 
1921       not played due to Juegos del Centenario
1922     Allies
1923     La Joya
1924     Escuela de Medicina              Allies
1925     La Joya                          Hércules
1926     Escuela de Medicina              Hércules
1927     Hércules [undefeated]            Escuela de Medicina
1928     Escuela de Medicina              Allies
1929     Escuela de Medicina              Tipografia Nacional
1930     Universidad                      Germania
1931     Universidad                      Germania
1932     Guatemala FC                     Germania (or Universidad?)
Liga Mayor de Guatemala
1933     Escuela Politécnica              Tipografia Nacional
1934     Escuela Politécnica              Tipografia Nacional
1935     Cibeles                          Quetzal
1936     Cibeles                          Quetzal
1937     Quetzal                          Tipografia Nacional
1938     Tipografia Nacional              Municipal
1939     Tipografia Nacional              Hércules
1940     Tipografia Nacional              Independiente
1941     Guatemala FC                     Tipografia Nacional
Campeonato de Liga
Season   Champions                       
1942/43  Municipal
1943     Tipografia Nacional
1944/45  Tipografia Nacional
1947     Municipal
1950/51  Municipal
1952/53  Tipografia Nacional
1954/55  Municipal
1956     Comunicaciones
1957/58  Comunicaciones
1959/60  Comunicaciones
1961/62  Xelajú MC
1963/64  Municipal
1964     Aurora
1965/66  Municipal
1966     Aurora
1967/68  Aurora
1968/69  Comunicaciones
1969/70  Municipal
1970/71  Comunicaciones
1971     Comunicaciones
1972     Comunicaciones
1973     Municipal
1974     Municipal
1975     Aurora 
1976     Municipal
1977     Comunicaciones
1978     Aurora
1979/80  Comunicaciones
1980     Xelajú MC 
1981     Comunicaciones 
1982     Comunicaciones
1983     Suchitepéquez
1984     Aurora
1985/86  Comunicaciones
1986     Aurora
1987     Municipal
1988/89  Municipal
1989/90  Municipal
1990/91  Comunicaciones
1991/92  Municipal
1992/93  Aurora
1993/94  Municipal
1994/95  Comunicaciones
1995/96  Xelajú MC 
1996/97  Comunicaciones
1997/98  Comunicaciones
1998/99  Comunicaciones
1999/00  Comunicaciones (Apertura)
         Municipal      (Clausura)
2000/01  Municipal      (Apertura)
         Comunicaciones (Clausura)
2001/02  Municipal      (Reordenamiento)
         Municipal      (Clausura)
2002/03  Comunicaciones (Apertura)
         Comunicaciones (Clausura)
2003/04  Municipal      (Apertura)
         Cobán Imperial (Clausura)
2004/05  Municipal      (Apertura)
         Municipal      (Clausura)
2005/06  Municipal      (Apertura)
         Municipal      (Clausura)
2006/07  Municipal      (Apertura)
         Xelajú MC      (Clausura)
2007/08  Jalapa         (Apertura)
         Municipal      (Clausura)
2008/09  Comunicaciones (Apertura) 
         Jalapa         (Clausura)
2009/10  Municipal      (Apertura)
         Municipal      (Clausura)
2010/11  Comunicaciones (Apertura) 
         Comunicaciones (Clausura)
2011/12  Municipal      (Apertura)
         Xelajú MC      (Clausura)
2012/13  Comunicaciones (Apertura)  
         Comunicaciones (Clausura)
2013/14  Comunicaciones (Apertura)  
         Comunicaciones (Clausura)
2014/15  Comunicaciones (Apertura)  
         Comunicaciones (Clausura)
2015/16  Antigua GFC    (Apertura)  
         Suchitepéquez  (Clausura)
2016/17  Antigua GFC    (Apertura)  
         Municipal      (Clausura)
2017/18  Antigua GFC    (Apertura)  
         Guastatoya     (Clausura)
2018/19  Guastatoya     (Apertura)  
         Antigua GFC    (Clausura)
2019/20  Municipal      (Apertura)  
           abandoned    (Clausura)
2020/21  Guastatoya     (Apertura)  
         Santa Lucía    (Clausura)
2021/22  Malacateco     (Apertura)  
         Comunicaciones (Clausura)
2022/23  Cobán Imperial (Apertura)  
         Xelajú MC      (Clausura)
2023/24  Comunicaciones (Apertura)  
         Municipal      (Clausura)

[*] Municipal were runners-up; other participants included Aduana Central

[no championships in missing years]

Number of Titles (118)

 32 Comunicaciones (Ciudad de Guatemala)
    Municipal (Ciudad de Guatemala)

  8 Aurora (Ciudad de Guatemala)

  6 Tipografia Nacional (Ciudad de Guatemala)
    Universidad (Ciudad de Guatemala) [formerly Escuela de Medicina]
    Xelajú Mario Camposeco (Quezaltenango)

  4 Antigua GFC

  3 Guastatoya

  2 Allies (Ciudad de Guatemala) 
    Cibeles (Ciudad de Guatemala)
    Cobán Imperial (Cobán)
    Escuela Politécnica 
    Guatemala FC (Ciudad de Guatemala) [formerly Escuela Normal]
    Hércules (Ciudad de Guatemala)
    La Joya (Ciudad de Guatemala)
    Suchitepéquez (Mazatenango)

  1 Malacateco (Malacatán)
    Quetzal (Ciudad de Guatemala)
    Santa Lucía (Santa Lucía Cotzumalguapa)

Campeonato Nacional

Played between regional selections; Hércules reprecented the Liga Capitalina in the first edition as runners-up, as champions Allies could not travel.

1919     Hércules        
1920 (1)   no winners
1920 (2) Selección Quetzalteca
1921     Selección Capitalina         [final] 
1922     Selección Quetzalteca 
1923 (1) Selección Capitalina 
1923 (2) Selección Capitalina 

Campeonato de la República

1931     Pensativo de Antigua Guatemala        1-1 2-1 América de Quetzaltenango
1935     Pensativo de Antigua Guatemala            bt  Quetzal
1936     Cibeles                                   8-0 Chiquimula
1937     Imperial de Cobán                         awd América de Quetzaltenango             [*]
1938     Tipografia Nacional                       bt  Excelsior de Sacatepéquez
1939     Municipal de Retalhuleu                   bt  América de Quetzaltenango      
1940     Tipografia Nacional                       bt  Municipal de Retalhuleu
1941     Guatemala FC                              bt  ADIX

[*] match finished 4-1 to América but as they had two players registered irregularly,
    the title was awarded to Imperial

About this document

With thanks to, Fútbol de Guatemala. and

Prepared and maintained by Hans Schöggl for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Hans Schöggl
Last updated: 20 May 2024

(C) Copyright Hans Schöggl and RSSSF 1998/2024
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.