Ethiopia - List of Cup Winners

During the Italian occupation before World War II, a "Prima Coppa Federale" was organised in 1937.

FA Cup
1945    British Military Mission-BMME (Addis Abeba)
1946    Army (Addis Abeba)
1947    Polisportiva (Addis Abeba)
1948    Body Guard (Addis Abeba) [also listed as Kibur Zebega]
1949    Army (Addis Abeba) 
1950    Army (Addis Abeba) 
1951    Army (Addis Abeba) 
1952    St George (Addis Abeba) 
1953    St George (Addis Abeba) 
1954    Army (Addis Abeba) 
1955    Mechal (Addis Abeba) 
1956    Mechal (Addis Abeba) 
1957    St George (Addis Abeba) 
1958    Mekuria (Addis Abeba) [also listed as Kibur Zebega]
1959    Omedla (Addis Abeba) [aka Police]
1960    Nib (Debre Zeit) [aka Air Force]
1961-69   not held
1970    GS Asmara (Asmara)
1971    Electric (Addis Abeba) 
1972    Electric (Addis Abeba) 
1973    St George (Addis Abeba) 
1974    St George (Addis Abeba) 
1975    Mechal (Addis Abeba) 
1976    Electric (Addis Abeba) 
1977    St George (Addis Abeba) 
1978    Omedla (Addis Abeba) [also listed as Ogaden Lion]
1979      not held
1980    Ermejachen (Addis Abeba) 
1981    Key Bahr "Red Sea" (Eritrea) 
1982    Mechal (Addis Abeba) 
1983    Key Bahr "Red Sea" (Eritrea) 
1984    Eritrea Shoes (Eritrea) 
1985    Eritrea Shoes (Eritrea) 
1986    Building Construction (Addis Abeba) 
1987    Eritrea Shoes (Eritrea) 
1988    Bunna Gebeya (Addis Abeba)       5-4 Mechal (Addis Abeba) 
1989      not held (other source: Medr Babur (Dire Dawa))
1990    Mechal (Addis Abeba) 
1991      not held
1992      not held [*1]
1993    St George (Addis Abeba) 
1994    Muger Cemento (Nazareth)         2-1 St George (Addis Abeba)          [aet]
1995    Medhin (Addis Abeba) [aka Insurance]
1996    Awassa Flour Mill (Awassa) 
1997    Wolaita Tussa (Awassa) 
1998    Ethiopian Bunna (Addis Abeba)    4-2 St George (Addis Abeba)          [aet]
1999    St George (Addis Abeba)          bt  Ethiopian Bunna (Addis Abeba)  
2000    Ethiopian Bunna (Addis Abeba)    2-1 Awassa Kenema (Awassa)  
2001    Mebrat Hail (Addis Abeba)        2-1 Guna Trading FC (Mekelé)         [aet]
2002    Medhin (Addis Abeba)             drw Mebrat Hail (Addis Abeba)        [aet, 6-3 after pen]
2003    Ethiopian Bunna (Addis Abeba)    2-0 Mebrat Hail (Addis Abeba) 
2004    Bankoch (Addis Abeba)            1-0 Ethiopian Bunna (Addis Abeba)
2005    Awassa Kenema (Awassa)           2-2 Muger Cemento (Nazareth)         [aet, Awassa on pen]
2006    Mekelakeya (Addis Abeba)         1-0 Ethiopian Bunna (Addis Abeba)
2007    Harar Bira (Harar)
2008    Ethiopian Bunna (Addis Abeba)    2-1 Awassa Kenema (Awassa) 
2009/10 Dedebit (Addis Abeba)            awd St George (Addis Abeba)          [*2]
2010/11 St George (Addis Abeba)          3-1 Muger Cemento (Nazareth) 
2012            not held
2013    Mekelakeya (Addis Abeba)         0-0 St George (Addis Abeba)          [4-2 pen]
2014    Dedebit (Addis Abeba)                                                 [*3]
2015    Mekelakeya (Addis Abeba)         2-0 Awassa Kenema (Awassa)   
2016    St George (Addis Abeba)          1-1 Mekelakeya (Addis Abeba)         [4-3 pen]
2017    Welayta Dicha (Sodo)             1-1 Mekelakeya (Addis Abeba)         [4-2 pen]            
2018    Mekelakeya (Addis Abeba)         0-0 St George (Addis Abeba)          [3-2 pen]         
2019    Fasil Kenema (Gondar)            1-1 Awassa Kenema (Awassa)           [Fasil on pen]
2020-22         not held

[*1] no Cup tournament was held in 1992 due to scheduling problems; Bunna
       Gebaya, the championship runners-up, were declared cup winners and
       represented Ethiopia in the African CWC.
[*2] the 2010 final was abandoned at 1-0 to Dedebit in the second half after
       St George had a fifth (sic) player sent off; Dedebit declared winners
[*3] the 2014 losing finalists were either St George (Addis Abeba) or Muger
       Cemento (Nazareth) 

Number of Titles (60):

14 Mekelakeya (Addis Abeba; includes Mechal and Army)

10 St. George (Addis Abeba) 

 5 Ethiopian Bunna (Addis Abeba; includes Bunna Gebeya) [does not include 1992]

 4 Mebrat Hail/Electric (Addis Abeba)
 3 Eritrea Shoes (Eritrea) [now in Eritrea]
 2 Dedebit (Addis Abeba)  
   Medhin (Addis Abeba; aka Insurance)
   Mekuria (Addis Abeba) [includes Body Guard]
   Omedla (Addis Abeba; aka Police)
   Key Bahr "Red Sea" (Eritrea) [now in Eritrea]

 1 GS Asmara (Asmara) [now in Eritrea]
   Awassa Flour Mill (Awassa) 
   Awassa Kenema (Awassa) 
   Bankoch (Addis Abeba; aka Banks SC)
   British Military Mission-BMME (Addis Abeba)
   Building Construction (Addis Abeba)
   Ermejachen (Addis Abeba)
   Fasil Kenema (Gondar)
   Harar Bira (Harar)
   Muger Cemento (Nazareth)
   Nib (Debre Zeit; aka Air Force)
   Polisportiva (Addis Abeba)
   Welayta Dicha (Sodo)
   Wolaita Tussa (Awassa)

Union Cup

NB: tournament organised by rebel clubs including all major clubs from
    Addis Abeba

2007    Ethiopian Bunna (Addis Abeba)    1-0 St George (Addis Abeba)

Shoa (Addis Ababa) knockout cup

1947    Bodyguard
1951    St George                        2-1 Metchal
1957    Air Force
1965    Metchal                          3-1 Omedla

NB: from review article in "Ethiopian Herald" which appeared in 1965; missing years not mentioned

Addis Ababa City Cup

Ed. Year
 1  2004    Ethiopian Bunna (Addis Abeba)    
 2  2005    EEPCO (Addis Abeba)              0-0 Ethiopian Bunna (Addis Abeba)    [5-4 pen]
 3  2006    EEPCO (Addis Abeba)
 4  2007    St George (Addis Abeba)          2-0 Insurance (Addis Abeba)  
 5  2010    St George (Addis Abeba)          1-1 CBE SA (Addis Abeba)             [4-2 pen]
 6  2011    St George (Addis Abeba)          1-0 Dedebit (Addis Abeba)   
 7  2012    Ethiopian Bunna (Addis Abeba)    drw CBE SA (Addis Abeba)             [Bunna on pen]
 8  2013    St George (Addis Abeba)  
 9  2014    CBE SA (Addis Abeba)             1-1 Ethiopian Bunna (Addis Abeba)    [6-5 pen]
10  2015    Dashen Beer [*]                  bt  Ethiopian Bunna (Addis Abeba) 
11  2016    EEPCO (Addis Abeba)              2-0 St George (Addis Abeba) 
12  2017    St George (Addis Abeba)          1-0 Ethiopian Bunna (Addis Abeba)
13  2018    Ethiopian Bunna (Addis Abeba)    4-1 Bahir Dar Kenema (Bahir Dar)
14  2019    St George (Addis Abeba)          2-1 Sebeta Kenema (Sebeta)
    2020      not held
15  2021    Bahir Dar Kenema (Bahir Dar)     1-0 Mekelakeya (Addis Abeba)

[*] as guest team (along with Adama City), winners Dashen Beer were not allowed to take
    the trophy home but were presented a "special" trophy; Ethiopian Bunna were handed
    the actual trophy as the best Addis Ababa club (as runners-up).

Number of Wins (15)

 6 St George (Addis Abeba)  
 3 EEPCO (Addis Abeba)
   Ethiopian Bunna (Addis Abeba)   

 1 Bahir Dar Kenema (Bahir Dar)  
   CBE SA (Addis Abeba)   
   Dashen Beer

About this document

Thanks to Neil Morrison and Hans Schöggl for various additions and updates

Prepared and maintained by Mamo Gebrehiwot for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Mamo Gebrehiwot (
Last updated: 12 Jan 2024

(C) Copyright Mamo Gebrehiwot and RSSSF 1998/2024
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.