Eritrea - List of Champions

Note that between 1953 and independence in 1993, Eritrea teams played in the Ethiopian league structure.

before independence
1936      not known
1938      not known
1939      not known
1940      not finished (Asmara Calcio were leading when abandoned due to war)
1944      not known
1944/45 GS Asmara
1945/46   not known
1946/47 GS Asmara
1947/48   not known
1949    GS Asmara
1950      not known
as part of Ethiopia
1962/63 GS Asmara
1963/64 GS Asmara 
NB: GS Asmara (formerly Asmara Calcio) won two more titles between 1969 and 1975
since independence
1994      not known
1995    Red Sea FC (Asmara)
1996    Adulis Club (Asmara)
1997    Al-Tahrir (Asmara)
1998    Red Sea FC (Asmara)
1999    Red Sea FC (Asmara)
2000    Red Sea FC (Asmara)
2001    Hintsa (Asmara)
2002    Red Sea FC (Asmara)
2003    Anseba Sports Club (Keren)
2004    Adulis Club (Asmara)
2005    Red Sea FC (Asmara)
2006    Adulis Club  (Asmara)
2007    Al-Tahrir (Asmara)
2008    Asmara Bira 
2009    Red Sea FC (Asmara)
2010    Red Sea FC (Asmara)
2011    Red Sea FC (Asmara)
2012    Red Sea FC (Asmara)
2013    Red Sea FC (Asmara)
2014    Red Sea FC (Asmara)
2015-16   not played
2017-18   not known
2019    Red Sea FC (Asmara) 

Number of Titles (21, since 1995; 2015-2018 not known)

13 Red Sea FC (Asmara)

 3 Adulis Club (Asmara)

 2 Al-Tahrir (Asmara)

 1 Anseba Sports Club (Keren)
   Asmara Bira [aka Brewery]
   Hintsa (Asmara)

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Hans Schöggl for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Hans Schöggl
Last updated: 21 Oct 2021

(C) Copyright Hans Schöggl and RSSSF 2000/21
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.