European Trip of Atlético Mineiro 1950

Winter Tournament

 1-11-50 1860 München           3-4 Atlético
 4-11-50 Hamburger SV           0-4 Atlético
 5-11-50 Werder Bremen          3-1 Atlético

NB: Atlético won the tournament

Other Matches

12-11-50 Schalke 04             1-3 Atlético
16-11-50 Rapid Wien             3-0 Atlético
20-11-50 1.FC Saarbrücken       0-2 Atlético 
22-11-50 Anderlecht             1-2 Atlético
26-11-50 Eintracht Braunschweig 3-3 Atlético
 5-12-50 Union Luxembourg       3-3 Atlético
 7-12-50 Stade Français         1-2 Atlético

NB: due to winning the winter tournament and the overall good results of the trip, 
    usually in cold weather, the Belo Horizonte press dubbed Atlético the "Campeão do Gelo"
    (ice champion), a title which made it into the official anthem in the phrase 
    "nós somos campeões do gelo".

Squad List:

Kafunga, Mão-de-Onça, Moreno, Márcio, Juca, Oswaldo, Afonso, 
Zé do Monte, Haroldo, Lucas, Lauro, Zezinho, Alvinho, Vavá, 
Nívio, Vicente Perez, Barbatana, Vaguinho, Murilinho 

Coach: Ricardo Diez
Team Doctor: Abdo Arges


 6 Vaguinho
   Lucas Miranda
 5 Nívio
 3 Lauro
 1 Murilinho

About this document


Thanks to Neil Morrison for clarification of Luxembourg side on Dec 5

Prepared and maintained by Eduardo Magalhães for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Eduardo Magalhães (
Last updated: 28 Nov 2013

(C) Copyright Eduardo Magalhães and RSSSF 2007/13
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.