Artemio Franchi Trophy and Finalissima

The so-called "Artemio Franchi Trophy", twice played in the eighties and nineties between the reigning European champions and Copa América winners, can be considered a precursor of the FIFA Confederations Cup. It was revived in 2022 by UEFA and CONMEBOL as "Finalissima".
The relevant matches:

Artemio Franchi Trophy
21- 8-1985 Paris         France       2-0 Uruguay   
24- 2-1993 Mar del Plata Argentina    1-1 Denmark        [aet, 5-4 pen]

 1- 6-2022 London        Italy        0-3 Argentina

Note that the matches:

29-11-1961 Montevideo    Uruguay      1-2 Soviet Union
20-12-1989 Rotterdam     Netherlands  0-1 Brazil
25- 3-1998 Stuttgart     Germany      1-2 Brazil

which also involved the reigning European and South American champions, were not
played for any trophy but ordinary friendlies.

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Karel Stokkermans for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Karel Stokkermans
Last updated: 9 Jun 2022

(C) Copyright Karel Stokkermans and RSSSF 2022
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.