South American Coach of the Year 1997

By the Uruguayan newspaper El País. Only coaches from American clubs or
national teams are eligible, no matter their country of origin.
 1. Daniel PASSARELLA (Argentina)       27 pts
 2. Paulo César CARPEGIANI (Brazil)     26
 3. Ramón DÍAZ (Argentina)              20
 4. Juan Carlos OBLITAS (Perú)          14
 5. Gustavo BENÍTEZ (Paraguay)           3
    René SIMOES (Brazil)                 3
    Mario ZAGALO (Brazil)                3
 8. Nelson ACOSTA (Uruguay)              2
    Paulo AUTUORI (Brazil)               2
    José PEKERMAN (Argentina)            2
11. Hernán Darío GÓMEZ (Colombia)        1
    Manuel LAPUENTE (Mexico)             1
    Wanderlei LUXEMBURGO (Brazil)        1
    Sergio MARKARIAN (Uruguay)           1
    Bora MILUTINOVIC (Yugoslavia)        1
    Víctor PÚA (Uruguay)                 1

About this document

Prepared and maintained by José Luis Pierrend for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: José Luis Pierrend (
Last updated: 4 Jan 2000

(C) Copyright José Luis Pierrend and RSSSF 1999/2000
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.